Skip to content

Buyouts

guide
2 min readUpdated

User Guide › Sales › Buyouts

buyouts

Overview

Use the Buyouts form to work with a buyout record from the Sales area. Sales representatives and sales managers can use this form when processing sales work that progresses from an Offer to an Order and, ultimately, to Delivered.

A buyout record is saved as part of the sales record workflow. Use the form to enter or review the available buyout information, then save the record when your work is complete.

Before you start

  • Ensure that you have access to the Sales area.
  • Open the relevant sales record before creating or updating its buyout information.
  • When the related sales work is an Offer, the Offer must progress through Draft, Awaiting Approval, Approved, Valid, and Ordered before it can support the next stage of the job. Manager approval is required while the Offer is Awaiting Approval.
  • An Offer must contain at least one item.

Steps

  1. From the application navigation, select Sales.

  2. Open the Buyouts area and select Buyout to open a new buyout form.

    Buyouts
  3. Enter or review the buyout information available on the form.

  4. Select Save to save the buyout record and remain on the form.

  5. Select Save and Close when you have finished working with the record and want to close the form.

Tips & cautions

Note: Save the record before leaving the Buyouts form. Use Save and Close only after completing the current update.

Warning: An Offer must have at least one item. An Offer awaiting approval must be approved by a manager before it can progress.

Warning: Items marked Ready for Shipment or Delivered cannot be deleted. A Delivered order cannot be reverted when a due invoice already exists.

Troubleshooting

  • You cannot progress an Offer to the next part of the sales process → The Offer may still be Draft or Awaiting Approval → Complete the required approval process so that the Offer can become Approved, Valid, and Ordered.
  • You cannot remove an item → The item is Ready for Shipment or Delivered → Retain the item because items in these statuses cannot be deleted.
  • You cannot revert an order → The order has binding invoices → Retain the order because an order with binding invoices cannot be reverted.
  • You need to save your work but remain on the form → You selected the close option or have not saved yet → Select Save.

Result

The buyout record is saved in the Sales area and is ready for further sales processing.

Was this page helpful?

Download as PDF